What is SHA Plus+?

December 15, 2021

The pandemic gave rise to many accreditations that are meant to recognise the establishments in line with safety protocols. SHA Plus+ is one such accreditation given to an organisation in recognition of its attempt to contain the virus.

The inception of Sha Plus+
Thailand, one of the most visited tourist destinations in the world, decided to open its borders to travellers once again. But the government also wants to ensure the maximum safety of its visitors, the residents, and those working in the hospitality industry, and the SHA Plus+ certificate was conceptualised as a result.

Phuket Sandbox
It was necessary to recognise the hotels that have implemented safety precautions for the safety of their guests and staff, especially since ‘Phuket Sandbox’ was introduced; this is a model that allows travellers to enter the country without having to go into a full 14-day quarantine period.

Who’s eligible for SHA Plus+ Certificate?
Hospitality establishments and other types of organisations with preventive measures in place and a team that’s 70% vaccinated, at the least, are eligible for the certification. Pathumwan Princess Hotel, for instance, is SHA certified on account of its preventive protocols and the number of vaccinated staff members.

The difference between SHA and SHA Plus
The SHA Certificate is awarded to establishments with basic hygiene standards and the SHA Plus is awarded to establishments with the highest hygiene standards along with a team that’s 70% vaccinated.

If you are planning to visit Thailand in the near future, you need to have proof of a negative Covid test and a reservation at an SHA accredited hotel or resort, so it’s important that you look for the SHA Plus+ Certificate while looking for Bangkok hotel deals. Furthermore, travellers need to have insurance coverage with a minimum amount of USD 100,000; the coverage should also cover the medical expenses related to Covid if there were to be any.